Dev / Ubuntu

My Ubuntu Almost Died – Boot Repair to the Rescue!

Ubuntu LogoOk, so I was fiddling around with my Ubuntu 12 installation – I was trying to set Windows 8 as the default OS on boot up – when suddenly:

Error: No such file name
grub rescue>

Holy crap! This was worse than the Blue screen of death because I knew almost nothing about Ubuntu!!

So after my heart dropped to the floor and I gathered my wits I set about Googling this on my phone.

At first I tried using the grub rescue prompt – which has no input memory and only has a rudimentary “ls” command which lists things in directories. No input memory means I had to type each command completely EVERY TIME! That becomes really old after about 2 times.

After about 10 minutes, I got the idea of trying to repair the grub from inside my Ubuntu Live CD – this was because I saw some posts that repaired their grub after manually going into Linux.

When I got into Ubuntu, I fired up Firefox and started googling, when eventually I found this treasure:

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Boot-Repair

I just followed the steps:

– boot your computer on a Ubuntu live-CD or live-USB.

– choose “Try Ubuntu”

– connect internet

– open a new Terminal, then type:

sudo add-apt-repository ppa:yannubuntu/boot-repair && sudo apt-get update

– Press Enter.

– Then type:

sudo apt-get install -y boot-repair && (boot-repair &)

– Press Enter

As it was running I saw that it was repairing my boot issue! After I got the “Repair Successful” message I sighed a great breath of relief!

I still followed the instructions to copy the URL indicated (paste.ubuntu.com/XXXXX) but After I rebooted, everything went by smoothly.

Back to learning about Ubuntu and Linux!

Resources:

Leave a Reply

