Life / Outdoor

Biking in Timberland, San Mateo

I have never ever rode a bike for more than 1 or 2 kilometers at a time. EVER. Until June 7, 2013 when I rode a bike from Project 6, Quezon City to Timberland Heights, San Mateo.

That’s approximately 20KM one way. So that’s more than 40KM in 1 day! From couch to 40KM! heheh.

You can imagine how dead my butt and legs felt at the end of the day.

You can imagine how dead my butt and legs felt at the end of the day.

So how did I end up doing that? My friend JR invited me, Rhods and Nic our neighbor. I thought, why the hell not? It sounds like fun.

But unfortunately, Rhods couldn’t come because she was under the weather. And Nic just didn’t show up (probably because his wife forbade him hehe).  So It was just me and JR. He lent me one of his bikes and we we’re off at 9am. It was easy going up until the sun became blazing hot.

We had to stop several times. The first one was in J.P.Rizal St. in San Mateo. My head was overheating a bit because of my long hair.

We stopped over at Aling Tina’s Carinderia. Since it was my first time biking I was surprised at the number of bikers around. And along the way, most of the shops had convenient bike racks made of bamboo.

The sweat dried off surprisingly quick.

The sweat dried off surprisingly quick.

Aling Tina's

Aling Tina’s

JR and the Bike Racks

JR and the Bike Racks (parang band name..)

After a Mountain Dew break we we’re off again.

Now, Aling Tina’s was the base of the mountain. From there it was all uphill. We had to walk up the mountain most of the way.

This photo was taken at an angle. I Promise.

This photo was taken at an angle. I Promise.

Now, you might say “You’re supposed to RIDE bikes, not PUSH them!”, as some of the old biker men from this mountain would say. I say to you, “F*%& OFF! You try biking up an incline in midday heat!” I’m not saying I could do it without the heat. I’m just saying “F&^* OFF!” Glad we understand each other. hehe.

Our next official stop, we actually stopped around ten times going up the damned mountain, was at the boundary of Timberland Heights. Lunchbreak!

Tapsilog, Coke, and a water refill!

Tapsilog, Coke, and a water refill!

They sell a lot of Biker stuff.

They sell a lot of Biker stuff.

View of the Tapsilugan. Not too shabby.

View of the Tapsilugan. Not too shabby.

After a significantly long rest break, we went further up the mountain. We surrendered an ID at the guard house and we’re asked about a waiver. They just asked if we signed one and JR said yes so I just played along. It was probably an accident or death waiver for if a person falls off the mountain.

I gotta tell you, the subdivision was a pretty swanky place. Nice big houses, magnificent views, gigantic clubhouse, and it’s own biking course to boot. All you need is a lot of money and a car or two, since groceries are a bit far off.

When we got to the end of the paved subdivision road, which we, again, walked, we were greeted by a wide dirt road. Some cars pass by, and also some hikers and bikers. A lot of people leave their cars either: a) at the parking lot beside the dirt road; b) at the parking lot beside the tapsilugan; or c) at aling Tina’s.

Further down the road there was a small rickety hut with some signboards:

More details about the path AND credits to their creators

More details about the path AND credits to their creators

White Circle is for kindhearted folk whileBlack Diamond requires you to use Magic and Summon Dragons.

White Circle is for kindhearted folk while
Black Diamond requires you to use Magic and Summon Dragons.

So tired...

So tired…

We actually didn’t take any of the pre-made paths because my idiot friend just led me all around the whole damn mountain! We started with a non-existent path behind the rickety hut. Then when we got to a crossroads we went down the first thing we saw that looked like a bike path, which, we found out later was the tail end of the green path.

See that small thin path on the side? That's where we started.

See that small thin path on the center of the photo? That’s where we started.

The idiot that led me here.

The idiot that led me here.

Reverse Green!

Reverse Green!

We went in and out some mango groves, up some rocky roads, even up a carabao path thick with foliage!

IMGP0201 (Small)

The damned carabao path.

the bottom of a downhill track.

the bottom of a downhill track.

By the time we reached the top of the Carabao Track near a big antenna, I was exhausted. So we set back.

Going down the mountain was much much much quicker than going up. Since the wind is in your face you don’t feel as tired. The problem, though, is that by that time my legs were already like jelly and my butt hurt like hell from the bike seat.

We stopped over several times on the way back to QC and we got back to JRs house at approximately 8:30pm. I was exhausted and near death but, luckily, I has Rhoda’s magic camera (The Shockproof, Coldproof, Waterproof, Crushproof Pentax Optio WG-2)with me so I had a lot of pictures and no regrets.

The sad thing is, I updated my Fitocracy account today and I only advanced one level. ONE FRAKKING LEVEL!

Will I do this again in the future? Maybe, Possibly. But I’ll be bringing more water, and possibly shorts with a padded rear-end. And probably a car.

Zoom!

Zoom!

Leave a Reply

