Dev / Tech

Google Calendar – the best solution was right there all along.

Since I’m in the process of studying more web technology – like Joomla, WordPress, Drupal, PHP, JQuery, etc. –  it’s beginning to seem like I have a huge mountain of tasks in front of me. So I decided to look for a good time management/scheduling application. Enter Google Calendar.

I keep finding myself needing to arrange my schedule better. I just need to focus on continuity and habit.

Google CalendarSo I set up Google Calendar today. AND the great thing is, I found that it can send SMS notifications for FREE! At first I thought that I would have to have a smart phone to use it with my mobile device because, hey, what’s the use of a calendar if you have to be on your desktop to use it right? Whilst I still haven’t opened my iPhone to accept a Globe SIM card, this will do for now, even if I can’t add events on-the-go yet.

It’s pretty easy actually:

  1. Go to Google Calendar
  2. click on Settings or the Gear on the top right.
  3. click on the “Mobile Setup” tab
  4. Then follow the instructions on the screen (input your mobile num, wait for the confirmation code, then enter it in the space provided.)
  5. Viola, you now have SMS notifications enabled.
  6. Then you just have to set up Event Reminders to use the feature.

I also made SMS notifications the default for all my calendars so I’ll have less to click when I add events in the future.

Another thing, Google Calendar has an Offline version with Google Chrome. It comes as an extension in Chrome.

 

Resources:

Leave a Reply

